



This Week's Focus:

REPRESENTATIVE TOWN MEETING

The RTM is the Town's legislative body, however, the RTM can only reduce (not increase) the budget line items it receives from the Boards of Selectmen and Finance each year. The RTM also approves the labor contracts for all Town employees and for School teachers and administrators.

The Town is divided into ten voting districts, each of which will elect four members to the RTM to two-year terms. The current RTM has 50 members, with 36 Republicans and 14 Democrats, but as part of the recent mandatory redistricting to equalize representation, the number of representatives from each district was reduced from five to four. PLEASE NOTE THAT MOST VOTING DISTRICT NUMBERS HAVE CHANGED AND MANY VOTERS WILL HAVE NEW VOTING PLACES.

You can vote for four candidates in your voting district, and four will be elected.

District 1 (Dwight School)

Peter Ambrose (R) Ed Bateson (R) Mary McCullough (R) Keith Varian (R)

District 4 (Stratfield School) Sol Briks (R)

Dan Ford (R) Julie K. Gottlieb (D) Jennifer A. Hochberg (D) Frank O'Reilly (R) Wayne Parks (R) Philip C. Pires (D) Elizabeth Zezima (D)

District 7 (Holland Hill School)

Zhanna Funaro (D) Tom McCarthy (R) Chris McCoy (R) Mark A. McDermott (D) Michael Mears (R) Marc Valera (R) **Karen Wackerman (D)**

<u>District 10 (Mill Hill School)</u>

Sam Cargill (R) Paul Fattibene (R) Michael Herley (R) Eric Sundman (R)

District 2 (St. Pius X School)

Harry Ackley (R) Kathryn Burshstein (R) Neal R. Fink (D) Willian A. Gerber (D) Tim Lynch (R) Eric S. Newman (D) Richard Parker (R) Cindy G. Perham (D)

District 5 (Warde High School)

Josh Garskof (D) Jillian Plomin (R) **Tassos Recachinas (R)** Joe Siebert (D) Ruth A. Smey (D) Carol Way (R) Jay Wolk (D)

District 8 (Ludlowe High School)

William M Burke (D) Susan S. Burstein (D) Hank Ference (R) Kathleen D. Griffin (D) Pam Iacono (R) **Christine Messina (R)** Gregory R. Minsky (D) Pater Tallman (R)

(Incumbents are Italicized)

District 3 (FW Middle School)

Heather Dean (D) Alex Durrell (R) Alexis Harrison (R) Douglas A. Jones (D) Allen Marks (D) **Robin Orriss (R)** Joe Pagnozzi (R) Cindy Waldron (D)

District 6 (McKinley School)

Matthew C. Ambrose (D) Kathryn Braun (R) Hannah Gale (D) Andrew T. Graceffa (D) Jeff Melaragno (R) Ray Neuberger (R) Laurene O'Brien (R) Janice Solomon (D)

District 9 (Sherman School)

Nick Aysseh (R) Bryan Cafferelli (R) Brian Farnen (R) Andrew Gausepohl (D) Dru M. Georgiadis (D) Bruce J. Gold (D) Kenneth Lee (D) Bill Perugini (R)

To help voters gain insight into what the RTM candidates think, Fairfield Taxpayer has asked each of them to answer the following simple but important questions:

- What is your assessment of the Town's performance and how do you think it could be improved?
- What is your assessment of the RTM's performance and how do you think it could be improved?
- 3 If elected (or reelected), what will be your top three priorities and why?

By going to FairfieldTaxpayer.com and clicking on "2015 Election," you can:

- Find out what each of the candidates thinks.
- Review "bio's" and photos of all candidates.
- Send candidates your comments or questions with simple "1-click" links.
- Find out where you should vote after the recent redistricting.

To help inform all voters, please encourage candidates who have not yet responded to our questions to please do so!

Fairfield Taxpayer, founded in 2012, is a non-partisan organization dedicated to preserving Fairfield as a desirable and affordable community for all its residents. More than 4,500 of Fairfield's 37,000 registered voters are now on our e-mail list and 1,400 people connect with us through our Facebook page. These neighbors represent a diverse cross section of ages, occupations, incomes, districts, and political affiliations.

www.FairfieldTaxpayer.com

MOST OF US DON'T CARE? In 2009 and 2013, less than 30% of Fairfield's voters turned out for our municipal elections, even though the people elected will have a MAJOR IMPACT on our quality of life, our schools, our taxes and our property values. If you don't vote, who do you suppose will come out and elect our leaders?

PLEASE VOTE ON ELECTION DAY, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 3RD.